The Clarity of the Scriptures

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by ReformedBaptist, Aug 18, 2008.

1. ReformedBaptist

ReformedBaptist
    Expand Collapse

As I work through my first course with The Midwest Center of Theological Studies (MCTS) I will be sharing some things from time to time. My first course at MCTS is in Symbolics in which I am studying through the 1689 London Baptist Confession of Faith. I rejoiced in this course because my family subscribes to the LBCF as well as our church. The first chapter of the confession deals with the Holy Scriptures. Concerning the clarity of the Scriptures the confession reads:

I find both amazing and expected that such a statement, written 319 years ago, is very applicable today. It is amazing because of the age of the statement. But it is expected because men were as much sinners in the 1600's as they are today. How many times have we been perplexed or talked with others who are perplexed at the multitude of interpretations that men and churches have of the Scriptures. How many debates continue among Christians concerning some doctrine or another? It is not plain that all things in Scripture are not alike plain in themselves, nor alike clear unto all? Indeed it is.

Yet those things which are necessary to be known to make us wise for salvation are so clearly taught in Scripture that even a child can understand it. The classic text of Scripture showing us that is is the case is found in 2 Timothy 3:15-17 which reads,