1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

The KJV is sufficient for me

Discussion in '2000-02 Archive' started by Alex Mullins, Oct 16, 2001.

1. Alex Mullins

Alex Mullins New Member

It concerns me to see "believers arguing over the translations, even to the point of anger and profanity.

When I see this, it leads me to believe the that satan has accomplished exactly what he sarted out to do, water down, weaken and pervert God's precious word and divide believers. God is not the author of confusion.

This issue should never become a test of fellowship. The issue in and of itself has absolutely nothing to do with salvation.

I have been a student of the bible since I was saved in 1970 and, being aware of the thousands of differences in the 100+ english translations, was forced to ask myself these questions:

1. If we say that the bible was verbally inspired and preserved only in the original writings, and we do not have a perfect word today, how strong is our foundation? Did He give His perfect word only to the original writers and then lose it?

2. Is God not able to preserve His word, perfect for us today, in every "jot and tittle"? Why would He want not desire for us to be fully equipped for battle, using a "sword" of the finest steel.

3. Is it possible that satan could have worked through brilliant but ungodly men over the centuries to corrupt the very word of God for the purpose making the word less effective and causing us, His created, to fight and argue among ourselves? Could that be possible?

Gods Word is of vital importance in our development as blood-bought believers and we need to take it seriously.