1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

The Old Time Way

Discussion in 'General Baptist Discussions' started by danthebaptist, Feb 24, 2008.

1. danthebaptist

danthebaptist New Member

I'm kind of new to this computer business and new to this forum. In the couple of days I've been here, I've learned considerable.

I have also become distressed at what appears to be a great drifting away from Biblical teaching and principles amongst the people known as Baptists.

I will repeat here some of what I posted under the subject of hair as I reckon some won't read that post.

The time was when it meant something to be a Baptist. Folks kind of knew where you stood simply by saying, "I'm a Baptist" Now they didn't need to know if you were SBC ABC BBF BGC GBC PB or whatever, it was enough to say we were Baptist.

Now, however, so many Baptists are trying to be Protestants. That is, they are trying to be mainline. We've taken in all the moderninsm of the Methodists, Presbyterians, Lutherans, Congregationals, and the like.

What has happened to the old time gospel?

Where are our old time hymns?

Where are our old time convictions?

The time was our women looked like women and our men like men. We were a simple but hard working people. A people who loved the Lord, His Word, and seeing lost people won to the kingdom.

We used to preach heaven sweet and hell so hot you could feel the heat. How long has it been since you've been to a good old fashioned revival meeting? How about a brush arbour or tent meeting. My now we have to stay in our airconditioning. We have "programs" and don't go to the church house but we have "campuses"