Two Questions

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by Gib, Feb 1, 2016.

  1. Gib

    Gib
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    27,256
    Likes Received:
    13
    1.) Internet slow & intermittent. Provider says my iMac is using up my bandwidth trying to upload a large file to Amazon. I've checked settings but I don't see anything connected to Amazon. Any Ideas?

    2.) When running Norton's anti-virus is says "scanning 2 devices." What would the 2nd device be?
     
  2. InTheLight

    InTheLight
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16,272
    Likes Received:
    620
    1.) have you tried running speed test?
    http://www.speedtest.net/

    My results. I usually get a bit faster uploads.

    SpeedTest 020116.JPG


    2.) How many hard drives do you have?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Kevin

    Kevin
    Expand Collapse
    Inactive Users
    Inactive User

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    75
    You have caused me to sin and break the 10th Commandment

    Exodus 20:17 (KJV)
    17 Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbour's.

    I am coveting your Internet connection Frown

    Three tests, and the best of each one CryCryCry
    1. 968 ms for the ping
    2. 3.36 Mbps for the Download
    3. 0.59 upload
    The joys of living in the middle of no-where, but it could be worse, it could be dial-up.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Gib

    Gib
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    27,256
    Likes Received:
    13
    1.) It won't do the speed test.
    2.) 1
     
  5. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Smells like something amiss - if you haven't already done so let Norton do its thing and hope something shows up.

    I'm not up on macs and norton but possibly if your hard drive has two partitions norton is viewing each as a device.
    ----
    As to internet speed: Our old service was sold as 1.5 and at very best was 1.3 for years, last year I rewired and replaced everything in the house, provider rewired outside the house and it worked for a few months then .2 was not all that uncommon and seldom over 1.2.

    Enter cable internet: 30. :) Ohhhhhh so nice, wife and I can both be on the net and still get things done!
     

Share This Page

Loading...