upgrade problems

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by Revmitchell, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    780
    Ok so I upgraded from XP Home to Professional. Not sure why at this point there seems to be no difference. Anyway now that I have done that my screen will intermittently go blank. I turn it off and back on and it is fine for a while. Any thoughts.
     
  2. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    You might try booting and then shutting down immedately without starting anything. Do that three times and see if it helps.

    Windows has a bit of an ability to repair problems with this process.

    Can you get the picture to come back or do you have to reboot? Windows often sets a screen saver when installing. It also often sets the monitor to power down after a set amount of time of inactivity. start/control panel/power settings to change the later. To check for screensaver right click on your desktop/properties/settings/screen saver.

    You could also be sure your video and monitor drivers are updated to the latest. Go to the makers website and see if they have newer drivers than you have.
     
  3. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    780
    It looks like I am having problems with the video card. Maybe the driver. When I tried to reinstall the video driver that came with the computer is said it was incompatible.
     
  4. Johnv

    Johnv
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    The first thing I would do is visit the manufacturer's website and download the latest video deiver for XP. If that doesn' t work, I'd put money on the video card being bad. Thankfully, new video cards are relatively inexpensive, and , if your computer is several years old, you will see a noticeable improvement in performance.
     
  5. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    780

    It is just a little over a year old
     
  6. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Go to start/control panel/system/ and look for device manager, I think it is on the hardware tab.

    When it opens look for the video card, right click and choose properties and then choose update drivers. It will go online to see if there is a new one.

    If that doesn't work, try the manufac. website.
     
  7. Johnv

    Johnv
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eeek! That's still young. I'm more inclined to think it's a video driver problem based on the time alone, but it could go either way. The reason I say that is because the symptom you're describing is usually caused by a bad video card, or bad cable (I'm assuming you've checked the cable for being loose, so I won't insult you by advising you to check the cable). Updating the video driver doesn't cost anything, so try that first. If that doesn't work, then try replacing the video card. But before you do that, call teh manufacturer to see if, by chance, it might still be covered under warranty. Making the call doesn't cost anything, and you never know what they might tell you.
     
  8. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    780
    Well it is a laptop so there is no cable to check. And the warranty is gone. I did notice that it was getting quite warm. So I went and picked up one of those cooling tablets. We shall see if that was the problem here shortly.
     
  9. Johnv

    Johnv
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oooh! That makes a huge difference. I had a similr problem on my wife's laptop. If you take off the cover, you will see a cable that goes from the screen panel to the motherboard. It's possible that cable might be loose. If your'e not sure how to remove the laptop cover, do a search on youtube. There are several folks that have put visual step-by-step instructions on how to take off the cover and replace it when done. God bless those folks :)
     
  10. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    moving from XP Home to XP Pro? That's sort of like moving from a '74 Buick to a '74 Pontiac, ain't it? The actual differences between then are very minor.

    Be sure to check the power settings in XP. The upgrade may have reset some of them to a more power saving setting.

    I don't know of any video card/chip that is incompatible with XP. Even archaic chips are given basic drivers by Windows itself. The driver may be corrupt, though, so the advice from Johnv would be the way to go, but go to the chip maker (Intel, Nvidia, ATI, whoever) for the latest driver for it.

    Not onl could it be a loose cable (especially to the LCD screen), but you could have some dust buildup. A can of compressed air with the extension wand could do wonders. Try blowing it out through the vents first. If that doesn't seem to help much then disassemble it to get to the fan and cooler and blow it and the vents out that way. It really isn't very complicated once you see it done on a tutorial video.
     
  11. thomas not doubting

    thomas not doubting
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very amusing, my chuckle for the day!

    Here's a link to an online article about the difference between XP Home and XP Pro:

    http://articles.techrepublic.com.com/5100-10878_11-1038781.html

    Seems like there's not much difference for the home user on a single computer with no LAN.
     
    #11 thomas not doubting, Aug 21, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2009
  12. rdwhite

    rdwhite
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just doing an upgrade would not cause the cable to loosen. If it were a loose cable, the problem would have been evident before the upgrade. If you have checked the power settings and those are OK, I would highly suspect the video drivers that were installed with the upgrade.
     
  13. Johnv

    Johnv
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're right, just doing an upgrade would not cause the cable to loosen, but I've been in the IT feid long enough (too long) to know that new problems frequently come up whenever you're working on something unrelated. It's usually just bad timing. It's not unusual for me to take care of a person's network problem, and a few hours later, their sound card doesn't work, or some such thing. Even though the network problem had nothign to do with sound driver settings, I get yelled at by the end user.

    These types of coincidences suggest that, either there's some huge conspiracy of computer parts making other parts go bad on purpose just to get you to spend money, or maybe GOd just has a sense of humor.
     
  14. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    780
    I found the drivers at Dells website and reinstalled it. So far so good no problems. I will give it a couple more days before I draw any final conclusions. And it was a waste of time to up grade.
     
  15. Johnv

    Johnv
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just out of curiosity, what as the reason you wanted to upgrade?
     
  16. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    38,287
    Likes Received:
    780

    I didnt research it well and I assumed it ran better and did more.
     
  17. Johnv

    Johnv
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, for the home user, you probably won't see any difference. There are a few additional utilities that XP Pro has, such as video editing, and such. Sorry about the grief associated with upgrading. Glad to see it's better now.
     
  18. BroChris

    BroChris
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    When XP first came out, the Pro edition was less buggy, more stable, and more secure because of its additional networking capabilities. But I think patches have made them more or less equal at this point.
     

Share This Page

Loading...