Use Caution When Uninstallig and Installing Norton Internet Security.

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by bruren777, Jan 6, 2006.

  1. bruren777

    bruren777
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed Norton Internet Security 2006 on Mon.1/2/06. Today I got a message that the settings had been changed and I needed to uninstall and install it again for the program to run properly.

    I uninstalled it, but it would not install. I tried all the online helps provided by Norton, nothing worked. I phoned Norton and I had listen to all the instructions : if you have this sys. press this number and so on. After finally reaching the tech. support line, I was on hold for almost an hour.

    The tech. I spoke to told me I shouldn't have uninstalled the program. Now he tells me, anyway he told me he would send instructions to my e-mail addr. He gave me a priority number to use if I had problems, this was supposed to expidite my phone call. This time I was on hold for only 45 minutes. After verbal instructions from another tech. over the phone I was able to get Norton back up and running.

    Just thought I'd pass this on and save someone the problems I had. Perhaps the adage: "Don't believe everything you read" would apply here.

    [​IMG] :mad: :rolleyes:
     
  2. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just curious...a message from the system itself?
     
  3. bruren777

    bruren777
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was looking at the properties window, thats where I found the message. So to answer your question, yes it did come from the system.

    Thinking back to this morning, I should have asked the first tech. why he couldn't help me while on the phone.

    I guess I still feel I'm at the mercy of the techs in all things to do with computers. I do trust the techs at my ISP, that probably is because the ISP is local here and they don't need my credit card, they just send a statement by e-mail.
     
  4. Ben W

    Ben W
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    8,868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Bruce,

    I would be extremley extremely reluctant to ever go near Norton Anti Virus ever again. I used to use it before I switched to Apple, when I used to run a Pentium with Win 98. It gave me nothing but problems, constantly slowed down my system, and I wasnt actually convinced that it was the no 1 anti virus that you can get after I heard of Norton protected machines being scanned by McAffe or others, and viruses being found.

    The straw that broke the camels back for me was when I had a problem, and rang them, and their customer service would not talk to me unless I made them an over the phone payment of $59 to get technical advice! I said to them that I would rather just go out and pay for their competitors product than do that.

    A friend put me onto AVG anti virus which is one of the best available and is free of charge for the anti virus and the firewall, if you like it you can upgrade to a version that you pay for, yet the free one is usually more than enough to do the job, well worth a look!

    http://free.grisoft.com/doc/1
     
  5. gb93433

    gb93433
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    15,496
    Likes Received:
    6
    A freind of mine who does the graphics for movies such as Jaws and works for Apple does not recommend Norton and he uses McAfee. McAfee and Norton work very differently.

    Many times I have had viruses on my computer when using Norton but never once when using McAfee.

    Before I went to McAfee I had some troubles with Norton much like you. I eventually reformatted my hard drive and got rid of everything and reinstalled all my programs. Then installed McAfee. The computer has been fine ever since and without one problem. The McAfee I bought allows me to use it on two computers and updates automatically. They now have a license for three computers too.
     
  6. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use Norton anti-virus 2003, & have had minor problems when re-doing my whole system. But nothing major. My subscription runs out this summer though & they went up on their upgrade rates so I'll probaly give the AVG a try. It's already downloaded & reserved on a backup disk I have of free programs.
    Another decent Firewall thats free is Zone Alarm.
     
  7. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    I've run Norton on three or four computers at a time for a number of years with very little problem.

    When McA found some Norton didn't did they identify what the virus was by name? They may have been picking up code similar to a virus and misidendifing it it as a virus??? just a thought. Ran McAff. a time or two as well few years ago.

    I have downloaded the freebie mentioned above since this puter's norton was up yesterday :D Will do a full scan and see if it finds anything Norton missed. [​IMG]
     
  8. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually I did that as well last night & ran a scan. It found 4 trojans that apparently have been tucked away for a time! Also it doesn't use a third of the space as Nortons. I also ran into a problem with Norton removal I'm hoping someone might help with.
    The program rmoved fine, but I always go through the registry cause the cleaners I use won't remove all instances of an item. I found some Keys for Symantec that I can neither delete, or change the values for to make them null. Any ideas what, if anything I can do? There are about 10-12 items remaining that I would like to clear out.
     
  9. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Did you reboot before trying to delete them, Norton might have been hanging onto them till it was cleared out with a reboot??? Just a thought.
     
  10. El_Guero

    El_Guero
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used Norton for years, because there were several major bug releases that they beat McAfee to.

    However, my system was corrputed by my last Norton upgrade (Norton AV told me that I had been attacked by a trojan horse, and that norton WOULD NOT fix the problem until I had upgraded). I am limping along until I have the time to probably do a re-install.
     
  11. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ex, Yes I did a reboot, try to remember to do that with any uninstall. This is the first time I've been unable to at least change a value, thats what has me baffled. I never mess with OS values, but I remove items all the time.

    El Guero, You might want to try the AVG we've been speaking of. It found 4 trojans in my system(2000Pro), & a couple of'em were even in the microsoft anti-spyware quarentine folder. Its a 15Mb download & even with my dialup connection it upgraded itself in about 15min.You can't seem to beat it for free. Also in the min. requirements it said 450+Mhg processing, I only have 300 & it's running smooth.
     
  12. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    For a product that you pay for, check out Computer Associates eTrust® Internet Security Suite.
    http://tinyurl.com/9wynp

    The price sounds steep at $69.99, but this is what it entails:
    You can download a 30-day free trial.

    I use CA's eTrust® EZ Antivirus & eTrust® Personal Firewall.

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  13. bruren777

    bruren777
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the tips. I had been using AVG free virus prot. Then it sent msgs that I stopped it before the last scan was complete, and did I want to start where I left off ? Of course I didn't, so I would start at the beginning. After a few times I uninstalled and reinstalled AVG, but the same msg came back.
    I purchased McAfee, which for my sys.XP, but McA said I didn't have XP, after uninstall and reinstall with same results I took it back and exchanged it for Norton.

    If you don't mind listening to elevator music for 45-60 minutes while on hold to talk to a live person go for Norton.

    I got a msg. this morning from Norton, this time w/o going to properties, that settings had been changed. That I need to uninstall and reintall Norton. This time I'm not going to touch it. Is it possible that the program I got from Norton is corrupted?

    I'm as disatisfied with Norton as I'am with Home Depot. It only took days for me to become disatisfied with Norton.

    Maybe God is trying to teach me something, I wish He would give me a little clue. This boy from the backwoods of Minnesota has a hard time learning these new fangled things. We didn't have electricity, no indoor plumbing. Got our water from a spring in the summer and melted snow in a bucket on the woodstove in the winter for water.

    Brother Trotter, I'm going to try eTrust.

    I don't trust Norton anymore. I used Norton last year, didn't have any problems until my subscription ran out, then I downloaded the free AVG. The techs at my ISP use AVG for their own puters. They like it and have not had problems.

    Two things come to mind, I don't know what I'm doing or I have gremlins in my puter or a combination thereof.

    :mad [​IMG] :confused: :rolleyes:
     
  14. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    "Two things come to mind, I don't know what I'm doing or I have gremlins in my puter or a combination thereof." :D

    None of us know what we are doing with these things. I've been computing and fixing computers since the days of Timex Sinclairs and Commodores and I still don't know what I'm doing. [​IMG]

    We all have gremlins, called Micro Soft and Norton or fill in your software ________ :eek:
     
  15. Bible Believing Bill

    Bible Believing Bill
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/bbb.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,761
    Likes Received:
    0
    I voting on the gremlins, Brother.! ;)

    Bill
     
  16. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally found the link I was looking for.

    I am going to post this in this thread, as well as the other one about virii and malware.

    Top 10 tips to keep that new computer spyware-free
    http://blogs.zdnet.com/Spyware/?p=733

    Plenty of good advice, as well as the links to go with it.

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  17. El_Guero

    El_Guero
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am voting that Norton corrupted your system like it did mine.

    Regards
     
  18. ccrobinson

    ccrobinson
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting thread.

    I used ZoneAlarm until I got hacked 5 years ago. I've been using Norton for AV and firewall ever since and have had no issues.
     

Share This Page

Loading...