Viewing PDF files

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by TomVols, Nov 19, 2005.

  1. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I had Adobe 6, I could click on a .pdf from anywhere, any site, and it would open up. Now, I've updated to Adobe 7. I can click on a .pdf on my computer and it will open, but if I click on one online (from a website), it will not open, just a small square in the upper left hand corner. Help?
     
  2. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    I assume you have rebooted. If all else fails, you can right click on the link, save it to your computer and open it.

    When you click on a link in the browser, and adobe opens up is it version 6 or 7?

    I suspect your browser did not get informed of the update somehow.

    What browser you use might help others that have ideas.

    I just tried a .pdf in firefox and adobe 7 worked fine so it isn't the version of adobe.

    You might also try other .pdf files. I just opened the james link at http://www.soniclight.com/constable/notes.htm

    This is a good set of commentaries by the way.
     
  3. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Won't open. What I described in my opening post is what happened. Kind of symbol you get when you try to open a picture but it won't.
     
  4. TomVols

    TomVols
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    11,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the "Repair" function on "Add/Remove programs"

    Problem solved.
     
  5. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Great!

    (Adobe usually puts a little icon in the toolbars or opens a splash screen as it opens that tells what version.)
     

Share This Page

Loading...