Website Design for the Church

Discussion in 'General Baptist Discussions' started by pk4life, Jun 24, 2013.

1. pk4life

pk4life
    Expand Collapse

We have attended a start up Baptist church in our area for the last 3 months.
    They had a free website when we started there, but the pastor has wanted to do something more with it.

For the last three weeks he has been asking the congregation if anyone can help him do it, he's fairly limited computer knowledge from what I know.

I didn't want to jump out there in case somebody else knew someone, or could do design work themselves. However, I do have nearly 10 years of experience in graphic design software, 13 years of computer building experience, and years and years of video gaming experience (hey, that counts for something!! :D)

However, I am not a designer. The problem is, other people started voicing their opinions, and some people thought maybe paying for a website would be the best option.

The problem is, it's a start up church, with very limited sources. If you say "You could do it for just $200", that's a TON of money to a church who can't even support a full time pastor.

Also, what CAN you do with $200? Anything? My guess is, you're still not getting anything other than a standard web template, you're just paying somebody to fill it out for you, and alter the theme and colors for you.

Anybody got any insight on this? Is paying somebody who will accept $200 worth it, when you have to maintain it yourself anyway?

2. Revmitchell

Revmitchell
    Expand Collapse

I believe the easiest thing to do is to have a word press platform and install a desired template. If you go here they are very nice templates for wordpress and they can easily be customized by someone who has your experience.

Maintain the wordpress platform is easy and very functional and wordpress has some Christian based adons for wordpress like the ability to join and share prayer requests, a forum, a sermon keeper addon etc.