1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

What is meant by 'legalism'?

Discussion in '2003 Archive' started by Psalm116, Oct 29, 2003.

1. Psalm116

Psalm116 New Member

I'm new to a lot of the terminology here as well as the theological concepts.

If someone is a 'legalist' does that mean that they think their salvation is affected in some measure by following the Mosaic Law?

Or by following certain rules? (i.e. dresses-only for women, headcovering, etc.?)

Thanks in advance for the info.

Sarah

2. NaasPreacher (C4K)

NaasPreacher (C4K) Well-Known Member

You are going to find a variety if views on tis one [​IMG] . Both defintions are used, and that is the basis for a lot of the confusion.

3. Pastor Larry

Pastor Larry <b>Moderator</b>
    Site Supporter

Typically, a "legalist" is someone who has more standards than the one using the term. :D

Technically, it is someone who believes that strict obedience to the rules and regulations gains them standing with God (not necessarily salvation).

4. Psalm116

Psalm116 New Member

Typically, a "legalist" is someone who has more standards than the one using the term.

Ain't that the truth! Thanks for the replies. After I posted it I looked back over the posts for the past year and found the same question.

Sorry to post it again!

5. Askjo

Askjo New Member

Look at "legalist" or "legalism." That mean "double standard"! Legalism refers to a person who is strict to anyone, sins again -- whatsoever!

For example, a pastor criticized anyone about movies, but he still watched them through cable TV.

I heard a pastor said, "Throw TV out of your house." Someone visited him and found TV in a closet. How hypocrite is this pastor?

6. donnA

donnA Active Member