1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Featured Wine or Grape Juice in the Supper???

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by The Biblicist, Aug 18, 2016.

1. The Biblicist

The Biblicist Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

After I graduated from College, I had been accepted at the University of Kentucky for their M.A. program in Ancient languages. The term did not begin until fall and it was summer. I had always been a grape juice advocate and my standby book was Patton's book "Bible Wines and the Laws of Fermentation." During the Summer I started researching the classical Greek references in Pattons' book. To my amazement, not a single reference was correct. What I mean by "correct" is that they were jerked out of context and in context what Patton said simply was not true. For example, Patten quotes Homer in the Odyssey where the Cyclops asked for more "sweet black wine" as a proof text that it had to grape juice because it was "sweet." However, it is that "sweet black wine" that intoxicated the cyclops so much that they were able to poke out his eye.

If you are a grape juice man and are really up on your stuff, I would like to conduct a friendly discussion with you concerning those things you think prove that the drink in the Lord's Supper was not wine. Yes, and I am very familiar with the extra-Biblical phrases "unfermented wine" versus "fermented wine."

2. annsni

annsni Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter