Wireless Mess!!

Discussion in 'Computers & Website Forum' started by preacher, Feb 4, 2007.

  1. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Afternoon,
    Hoping someone can help a little here. I've got broadband connected to my desktop. Bought a Belkin Wireless G Router & connected it using the disk, followed every step, but still my wifes laptop won't connect half the time, & when it does the little icon down in the tray says it hasn't. I've had to go without setting up the security on it to get this far. Her card works with it or it wouldn't connect at all...right?
    I've been to their website..no help so far. Am I missing something simple?
    Any Help TRULY Appreciated!!
     
  2. ccrobinson

    ccrobinson
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I'll give it a shot. I've got a Linksys Wireless G.

    Please pardon the very basic questions. I don't know how much you know.

    First, how are you connected to the Internet? Is your desktop connected to the router? The reason I ask this is because I had to ask my ISP for assistance with IP addresses and such before I could connect to the Net through my wireless router.

    If the router is setup correctly, then you have to check the laptop's wireless network connection.

    Right-click on the network icon in the system tray.
    Click "Open Network Connections".
    Right-click on the wireless connection (not sure what it will be called).
    Click "Properties".
    Click "Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)".
    Click "Properties".
    Click "Obtain an IP address automatically" if not already checked.
    Click "Obtain DNS server address automatically" if not already checked.
    Click "Ok"
    Click "Ok"

    Try these things and let's see how far we get.
     
  3. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, just got back home but I'll try & see what happens.
    I do know that when it DOES connect..I can go to command line, type in "ipconfig." & it lista a primary & secondary IP address.

    I may mess the whole works up, but I've never liked XP anyways...I just talked my wife into letting me install 2000....I'll get back!!! Oh...I mean on her laptop..I already run 2000. Whole lot less probems from my experince!
     
    #3 preacher, Feb 4, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 4, 2007
  4. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    Did you run the home network wizard on both computers?

    Also, Windows can run your laptop wireless connection or the installed software can. When I was first setting it up that windows took care of things just fine. Since I did a hard drive restore and the robotics software now seems to do well. YOu might try windows. Been a long time, but seems in the control panel/network area I found a spot to allow windows to run it.
     
  5. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks...as soon as I finish installing 2000...I'll get back, should'nt be tooooo long!!
     
  6. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh Boy....I think I really messed up. I used the 2000 disk I have, let it boot, reformat the HD then install...but a bunch of drivers are apparently missing. Everything from display (only 16 bit color) to I don't know what for sure yet. I know there are differences between desktops & laptops...but this much?? I may have to take it to someone to fix now...me & my brilliant ideas.
     
  7. exscentric

    exscentric
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,253
    Likes Received:
    16
    You probably have tried restarting, and setting the video in properties. (right click on desktop/settings)

    You might try going to device manager and see if anything is showing problems. You can try to install drivers from there.

    If it is a full install of 2000 I'd think most of the drivers would be there but have never used it.
     
  8. Brother Bob

    Brother Bob
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    12,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, put windows xp back on for xp has all those drivers. Anyway, xp is a good program, much better than 2000. Also, Xp is much better setup to use "wireless" than any program out there.
     
  9. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Download and run EVEREST on her laptop:
    http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4181

    It will pull up what the hardware in her laptop is (chipsets and the like). Then, go looking for the manufacturer's sites (or her lappy's manufacturer) to download drivers.

    EDIT: Your best bet is to call Belkin and let them walk you through it. You may have to update your firmware, and they will have to tell you how.
     
  10. Brother Bob

    Brother Bob
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    12,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are not familiar with going to the websites and finding the drivers the XP is your best bet for XP ususally has most drivers already on it and auto loads them. If you know how to go to each web site and find the exact driver the maybe everest is best for you.
     
  11. Dale-c

    Dale-c
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good idea. I always liked 2000 best of Windows versions.
    Actually, it was the only one that wasn't just terrirble.
    One note though that Wireless support wasn't as developed in 2000 and most cards came with their own utility but in my experience, they worked well.
     
  12. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Morning...& Thanks ever so much for the info!
    1st,...can't reinstall XP no disk. It was already installed when it was given to Agee. But I've personally always liked 2000 better. The xp on there wasn't working right is why I took it off to begin with. The item is a IBM ThinkPad t20 & originally came with98.
    2nd, yes I'm used to downloading & installing items from the net.
    3rd...I checked the display properties, & the device mngr..drivers are not installed for the display, or ethernet, & a couple others things. I tried to load them off the disk with no luck. Yes it's a full install 2000 Pro.
    4th..been to the IBM site & they have some updates for different itens concerning 2000, just won't have time to try anything till this evening.
    Have to leave for work now, thanks again!
     
  13. Brother Bob

    Brother Bob
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    12,723
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. Brother Bob

    Brother Bob
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    12,723
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Bro. Bob.
    Just got home, fixin to start back in on her's. I'll check the links rite now.

    Just ran a checkdisk which showed no problems, then remebered the sfc/scannow for corrupt or missing files...running that now. Will update,...oh...already downladed some to copy to disk in case..& Trotter..downloaded your suggestion too but don't have it on yet! Time Consuming!!!
     
    #15 preacher, Feb 5, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 5, 2007
  16. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok....followed all the advice, downloaded & installed drivers & updates from various locations....AND....everything WORKS!! With 2000!!! I've even got her routed & connected to the net!!! Now I just got to install the windows updates, & the good ole anti junk junk!!!
    My wife says THANKS to all of yuns!!!!
     
  17. El_Guero

    El_Guero
    Expand Collapse
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    0
    w2k?

    :laugh:

    couldn't help it.

     
  18. ccrobinson

    ccrobinson
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like Win2k just fine, but it wasn't the only good Windows OS. Win98 was pretty good and XP Pro is better than Win2k. The absolute worst one was Windows ME. It was downright horrible.
     
  19. preacher

    preacher
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,784
    Likes Received:
    0
    I WILL agree about ME...horrible. I never cared for 98. Mabey I'm blessed (well...I know I am!!) but I've never had any problems with 2000Pro, less it was my own goof.
    I know they cut support for it but I'll use it as long as I can. A friend of mine at work said she could get me the recovery disks for Agees Laptop, with XP on them. If she wants it I'll do it all again!!
    Actually I've got an old HD for my desktop with Linux on it, just haven't taken the time to play with it. Ubantu version. I'm not sure my computer has enough juice for it to work right.
     
  20. Trotter

    Trotter
    Expand Collapse
    <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, Linux will run on a system that can barely manage Windows. I have an old 233 MHz that will run it just fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...