1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Wisdom regarding drugs/alcohol

Discussion in 'General Baptist Discussions' started by ScottEmerson, Apr 21, 2006.

1. ScottEmerson

ScottEmerson Active Member

I've been building a relationship with a college student who has had a pretty rotten past but who has been coming to church and asking all kinds of great questions. I really believe that the Lord is softening up his heart, slowly but surely. Anyway, here's the question that he asked via e-mail. The **** is another student. (I'm a student minister.) Thoughts?

Interesting question, to be sure. Thanks in advance for your time!

SEC

2. Seth&Mattsmom

Seth&Mattsmom New Member

We are to treat our bodies as a temple of Christ.

I have lived with alcohol/drug abuse all my life. First as a child, my father was really into alcohol and Rx drug abuse. When I became a teen I stopped talking to him and I think at that time he turned around. He is no longer the man he was. But I remember all too clearly the car wrecks, the seizures, the arguements. Then I went to college and did my own abuse. I am happy to say that it did not last on me and didn't take me long to realize how stupid smoking pot and overdrinking was. Now I am married into a family that has the same problems I grew up with, although I was unaware of these problems until well after our marriage.

So I can safely say that I KNOW drugs and alcohol. So here is my take. I am sure others can give much better advice, but your post hit my heart.

1. God also put natural poisons on the planet, but we don't partake of those do we?
    2. Satan uses drugs and alcohol to do his work. Drunk driving, unsafe sex, ruining relationships, you name it.