1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Work situation

Discussion in 'General Baptist Discussions' started by ccrobinson, Feb 27, 2006.

1. ccrobinson

ccrobinson Active Member

I'm a contractor in IT for a large company. My employer (the one who cuts me a paycheck) is having a meeting this Wednesday night to discuss 2006 benefits, the updated employee handbook, and other things like that. Since it's Wednesday night, if I attend the HR meeting, I won't be able to go to church. I informed my employer that I wouldn't be able to make the meeting and here's the response I received.

"We strongly encourage everyone to attend the HR meeting on Wednesday night. It will help you gain information about options that will be coming and get answers from our insurance company representative. I am sure that your church family will understand that on rare occasions we all have to miss an evening event.

I realize that we are asking you to give up two family nights; however, it will be a great opportunity for you to meet our Corporate Team. This will be {CEO's name deleted} first visit to {city deleted} in four years. It isn't very often that you get the CEO and three Vice-Presidents of a company at one meeting away from the office."

First, there's nothing that I couldn't get from the HR meeting that wouldn't be posted on the internal website. Additionally, if I had a question, it's not like I can't ask the HR Dept. anyway.

Second, going to church isn't about seeing other people and being seen by them. Of course, I don't expect an unsaved person to know this.

Third, using cards parlance, my King of Kings trumps the CEO and 3 of a kind (VPs). I'm not all that crazy about the idea that I HAVE to meet the CEO and VPs.