1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Youth Pastors

Discussion in '2003 Archive' started by Monergist, Aug 1, 2003.

?
  1. no formal training

83.3%
  2. bible college

16.7%
  3. seminary graduate

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Monergist

Monergist New Member

How does your youth pastor rate?

2. Monergist

Monergist New Member

I'm interested in seeing if we value our kids as much as we say we do. Do they get first class teaching--or something less?

3. ScottEmerson

ScottEmerson Active Member

I am a youth pastor at a church (more specifically the middle school minister). I have done student ministry for about three years. I graduated from Samford University and have a Masters degree in Marriage and Family Counseling, along with a year of Ph.D. work in the field. I will be starting seminary in the fall. I get paid considerably less than the other ministerial staff, despite having similar reponsibilities to several other ministers. I have about 70 active students that I have primary responsibility to lead, with around 120 on roll. According to the students and the parents of the students, I am very good at what I do, although I am quick to point out that God is the one who is doing this - he's just chosen to use me in this manner. (I've just got great students!)

(Oh, and I believe that they receive first-class teaching. I take my responsibility very seriously! One of my most recent messages - to middle schoolers, no less - involved understanding the difference between justification and sanctification.)

4. Haruo

Haruo New Member