1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

A brothers bowels

Discussion in 'Bible Versions & Translations' started by Deacon, Jun 7, 2008.

1. Deacon

Deacon Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I'm studying through 1 John with some men on Saturday mornings.
    Each man brings his own Bible so there's some variety.
    While we don't usually deal with versional differences, this came up today.

Below I've arranged the versions the other men had in order of their word-to-word correspondence to the Greek text
    (footnotes have been included when pertinent).

Notice two issues:
    1 - "brother" verses "brother or sister"
    2 - the words as written, "bowels of compassion" verses the words meaning (a translation of the idiom)

But whoso hath this world’s good, and seeth his brother hath need, and shutteth up his bowels of compassion from him, how dwelleth the love of God in him?
    1 John 3:17 AV 1873

But whoever has the world’s goods, and sees his brother in need and closes his 1heart 2against him, how does the love of God abide in him?
    1 Lit inward parts
    2 Lit from
    1 John 3:17 NASB95

If anyone has material possessions and sees his brother in need but has no pity on him, how can the love of God be in him?
    1 John 3:17 NIV

I was using my large print NRSV:

How does God’s love abide in anyone who has the world’s goods and sees a brother or sisterp in need and yet refuses help?
    p Gk brother
    1 John 3:17 NRSV

Questions:

1. Where does the NRSV fit in this grouping?

2. Should idioms be translated? or When should they be translated?

3. Concerning this verse only: What version do you prefer - - - AND WHY do you prefer it? (don't list a reason and risk deletion by C4K).