1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

acredited vs non acredited

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by Blood Bought 7, Mar 22, 2006.

1. Blood Bought 7

Blood Bought 7 New Member

forgive me if this question has already been exhausted on this forum... I'm somewhat new to it. I was wondering why it would cost me $13500 per year to go to a college like maranatha when it only costs about $6880 per year to go to a college like hyles anderson?

2. preachinjesus

preachinjesus Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

well there are a couple of things to consider.

1. depending on your particular brand of theological disposition, accreditation is actually the mark of the beast ;)

2. also accreditation standards are important if you plan on doing any graduate work, even if that graduate work is at a seminary. Most all decent seminaries are accredited and will only accept credits from likewise undergrad institutions

3. accreditation standards, imho and the US Government's ho, are for the protection of the students so they get the best degree for their buck. It helps ensure teacher/professor competency (well for the most part) and the fiscal/financial dealings of a school as well.

4. If you want to save a lot of money go to state school or something and get your degree from there

anyhoo...that's my $.02...keep the change

3. Nord

Nord New Member

Accreditation can be an expensive process and having it allows you to charge more. Does it mean that an accredited school is better academically, not necessarily. Certainly there are unaccredited schools like Pensacola Christian College (possibly Hyles Anderson) that are far superior to many Regionally accredited schools like University of Pheonix, etc.