1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Advice Needed Concerning Full-Time

Discussion in 'Pastoral Ministries' started by Bama Fan1, Sep 29, 2008.

1. Bama Fan1

Bama Fan1 New Member

I am seeking the advice of other full-time pastors. My situation is that I have been a bi-vocational pastor for over 10 years now. I have been serving at the church we are at now for just over 1 year. Things at the church have gone well so far and I feel really good about the future of the church. Recently I have felt as God, is leading me to go full-time, after speaking with the deacons on Sunday night they feel the same way. I guess what I am looking for is advice to help me in the transition. The other thing is that I have a really good job and it is a job that most people would be glad to have, so this is a step of faith on my part and on the part of the church who has never had a full-time pastor.
    Thanks for any help you could offer.

2. exscentric

exscentric Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    If you are sure it is God that is leading you why are you still part time :laugh:

Seriously, I was being serious above. Just be sure the Lord wants this and do as He directs. Be sure it is His leading else when the finances are thin if they should ever be, you won't question your decision. (Not that you probably won't question the decision :)

3. annsni

annsni Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Well, I can tell you from the standpoint of the wife of someone who went through this - trust in the Lord's voice. If He's calling you to full-time service, He will provide the way.