1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

anti-depessants

Discussion in '2004 Archive' started by Ps104_33, Jul 10, 2004.

1. Ps104_33

Ps104_33 New Member

Do you think it is wrong for a Christian to take Paxil or any other anti-depressant? Is depression a physical malady or is it a spiritual problem or both? Would taking Paxil be selling out to a secular world view or is it possible that an individual could have a chemical imbalance in the brain that could be corrected by a drug like paxil or zoloft? Can a Christian be constantly depressed?

2. Jeff Weaver

Jeff Weaver New Member

No
    Usually Physical
    No
    Yes

3. amixedupmom

amixedupmom Guest

I take paxil for Anxiety. I have a Chemical imbalance of (spelling here) Saratonin. If left untreated it can cause frontal lobe damage. It has to do with the "flight or fight mode" ..

As for depression. That CAN notice I said CAN be a chemical imbalance. Some think that it's a lack of faith, eh i'm not sold on that theroy I'm really not. I can tell you my life is better for having taken my Paxil.

4. amixedupmom

amixedupmom Guest

[​IMG] Just like a guy to be Short, sweet and to the point .. nice jeff LOL

5. Daniel David

Daniel David New Member

The chemical imbalance theory is just that.

6. amixedupmom

amixedupmom Guest

Good Evening to you too Daniel.

Theroy or no theroy my life has gotten better since I began taking them. As always we agree to disagree [​IMG]

7. Gina B

Gina B Active Member

Oh no not again!
    Ok, you all know the drill.
    Anti-depressants to the left, pro-anti-depressants to the right.
    The undecided should leave now and fast or we cannot guarantee your safety.