1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

are there different kinds of calvinists?

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by nodak, May 26, 2008.

1. nodak

nodak Active Member
    Site Supporter

As I posted before, I am not a calvinist.

I have had very little experience with calvinists. The calvinists I have known in real life (very few) were extremely bombastic, argumentative, domineering, fundamentalistic, holier than thou, and very very unloving. All pointed to knowing they were saved by their good works, rather than by their faith.

From that I assumed their attitudes, beliefs, and actions were reflective of calvinism itself.

As I have also posted before, we are considering leaving our church. That may mean leaving being a baptist behind, or it may just mean a long commute to church.

We were visiting a "half Baptist" church yesterday. By that I mean one where, if I understand, it is a community church composed of ABC Baptist and others cooperating due to small community size. I believe (could be wrong) one can maintain whichever denominational ties you prefer among the cooperating churches if you join there.

The church self identifies as being calvinistic. However, the people and the teachings did not come across as fundamentalist, legalistic, unloving, bombastic, argumentative, or at all unlovely. Rather, it was the most evangelical--how can we serve you--ain't God good and loving and kind--let us also be loving and kind-- bunch of people we have encountered in a long time. It did seem very conservative.

The service was a blend of liturgical and typical Baptist, with an air of being in presence of a great gracious awesomely loving God.