1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Are you putting money into retirement?

Discussion in 'Polls Forum' started by SaggyWoman, Nov 17, 2007.

?
  1. Nope.

4 vote(s)
    14.3%
  2. Social Security.

14 vote(s)
    50.0%
  3. My employer is putting some in for me (non social security)

8 vote(s)
    28.6%
  4. I am putting money aside myself.

16 vote(s)
    57.1%
  5. My employer is matching what I put in.

11 vote(s)
    39.3%
  6. Other answer.

2 vote(s)
    7.1%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. SaggyWoman

SaggyWoman Active Member

and your answer is?

2. Pete

Pete New Member

Nope. 1) I can have more fun with money now, & 2) I'm a fat taxi driver, who says I'm going to live long enough to retire? :laugh:

3. Joseph M. Smith

Joseph M. Smith New Member

I am already semi-pseudo-quasi retired, and so am drawing my Social Security and my Guidestone pension. But since I am still working part-time, I have been putting the max into IRA's and have been investing in two equity-indexed annuities.

When I was a full-time pastor, the church contributed an amount equal to 10% of my salary to my retirement via Guidestone, and I matched it with a voluntary salary reduction of 5% (and thus took a tax benefit on that portion).

It is not good, of course, to obsess with financial security in the senior years, but it is wise to prepare realistically. The barn-builder in Jesus' parable had obsessed and did not seem to understand that life is short. But he would not have been prudent to do nothing and become a drain on his family or his government.

4. Psalm 95

Psalm 95 New Member