1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Baptist Denominational differences

Discussion in '2004 Archive' started by Phillip, Oct 11, 2004.

1. Phillip

Phillip <b>Moderator</b>

I am new to this particular forum. I am sure this has been answered many times over, but to get me up to speed could each of you with different Baptist groups please explain the differences between your group and mine? Specifically on doctrinal issues.

I am SBC, conservative.

2. Ben W

Ben W Active Member
    Site Supporter

Hello Phil, I am with the Seventh Day Baptist Church, the main differences with the SBC being the Sabbath obvioulsly, and the Congregational style of organisation.

I think that the closest group to the SBC are the Six Principle Baptists.

3. rbnd

rbnd New Member

4. Bro. James

Bro. James Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    We are: Sovereign Grace Bible Baptists; independent, missionary, landmark, local, visible: we belong to no denomination, convention, association or synod.

There are a lot of things out there called Baptist. How can that be? Beware of wolves wearing sheepskins.

Selah,

Bro. James

5. rbnd

rbnd New Member

Bro. James,

In regards to Sovereign Grace Bible Baptists:

1. What do you mean by 'missionary'?

2. What do you mean by 'landmark'?

6. Dr. Bob

Dr. Bob Administrator
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    We've been asking that question for some time now . . [​IMG]

Brief history: Since the founding of our nation, Baptists have been in small regional groups. They met every 3 years (Triennial Convention) to deal with missionary support.