1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Chinese KJV equivalent

Discussion in '2000-02 Archive' started by neisen, Dec 20, 2002.

1. neisen

neisen New Member

Hi,

Greetings in the name of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ. I am new to this bbs, and hope to be a blessing whenever I come on.

I would like to know if there has ever been, and if there presently exists, any Chinese equivalent to the KJV. If not, is there anyone working on such a translation? Any leads or information would really be appreciated.

Thanks.

Neisen

2. Refreshed

Refreshed Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    First of all, welcome to the board. Secondly, I don't know, but I'm interested in the answer!

3. go2church

go2church Active Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    Why would you want a KJV equiv. of the Bible in Chines? What a giant waste of time and money! Here is a thought how about coming up with a Bible for the Chinese from the manuscripts that are available. Besides there are several types of "Chinese" spoken so one translation would work for all the Chinese.

4. go2church

go2church Active Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    wouldn't work

5. BrianT

BrianT New Member

I have read that the Chinese Union Version (CUV) is the closest to the KJV.

6. Pastor_Bob

Pastor_Bob Well-Known Member

Faith:
    Baptist
    We have a family from our church that is serving the Lord in Beijing. The Bible they use is in Mandarin Chinese. He said it was translated from the KJV.

7. Forever settled in heaven

it depends on what level of equivalence u mean:

1. 52 pigtailed Anglican scholars the world will never again know, convened in Beijing?