1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

computer froze

Discussion in 'Computers & Technology Forum' started by donnA, Jul 29, 2009.

  1. donnA

    donnA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    23,354
    Ratings:
    +0
    My computer froze, won't do anything, I am currently on my old computer with windows 98, can't do anything but most basic, not liking this at all. But the other one will not do anything at all, at one time I couldn't even more the curser, the clock even freezes, can't click on anyhting, nothing happens. The guy I talked to thought it might be a virus. I have two virus programs, both update and run everyday. Of course if it's not a virus I won't be able to afford to fix it. The virus removal and making sure it works, and can do internet is going to be $55. hard to pay but we can make it. More then that and it may be a long time before I'm back online becasue nothing online wants to work with my 98.
     
  2. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    39,139
    Ratings:
    +2,361
    Faith:
    Baptist

    Take it out of the freezer.
     
  3. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    39,139
    Ratings:
    +2,361
    Faith:
    Baptist
    Are there any error warnings given at all? If not as easy as it is to reformat it is almost not worth tracking down the problem. Just dump it ad start over.
     
  4. donnA

    donnA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    23,354
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dump what, the computer? If I did I wouldn't ever have another computer, won't be able too, no money and the way it looks even less money in the future.
    If I put a disc in it won't open it, so I can't reformat, unless theres something I don't know. Which is probable.
    No error warnings of anykind.
    Well at least the prople I'm taking it too do not charge to check and see whats wrong with it. Just hoping it's something I can get taken care of.
     
  5. exscentric

    exscentric Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,276
    Ratings:
    +59
    Have you shut it down and started it again?

    If so where there any messages? How far did it get in the restart?

    Have you installed any new software/hardware just prior to the problem?

    Lots of things to do before reformatting.

    Shut it down/and as it restarts press F8 and you should get a screen asking what you want to do. If you have installed something just prior to the problem choose safe mode and when it comes up uninstall that item.

    If not choose the last known setup that worked and see if that doesn't take care of your problem.

    If it is as hot where you are as it is here get in the freezer. Was 107 yesterday and today is to be hotter.
     
  6. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    39,139
    Ratings:
    +2,361
    Faith:
    Baptist
    Dump meaning reformat
     
  7. Magnetic Poles

    Magnetic Poles New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,407
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. Trotter

    Trotter <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wonder if it would have booted into safe mode?

    If it locked up it sounds more like corruption of a Windows file to me, but I would have to have more details as to what it did, how it did it, and what it looked like.
     
  9. donnA

    donnA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    23,354
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got it back good as new, turned out it was all the previous stuff everyone kept telling me to download was making it freeze becasue it all wanted to run and update all the time.
     
  10. billwald

    billwald New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2000
    Messages:
    11,414
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try pulling the hard drive. See if it will then boot off your windows 98 disk. If it does, get a new (to you) hard drive.
     
  11. rdwhite

    rdwhite New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    434
    Ratings:
    +2
    That is a problem using Windows, many programs want to preload as windows is booting up and your available memory to run the actual programs you want is very small. Then when you want to use a robust program that requires a lot of memory it will usually lock the system up.

    Take a look at the programs that have set themselves to preload when starting up. Many of them really do not need to preload and you can remove them from the list. This will greatly increase your computer's performance and will also allow the system to boot up faster.
     
  12. donnA

    donnA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    23,354
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, the guy who work on it turned off a bunch of stuff that didn't need to be on, and eleted some of the anti spy/mal ware programs and kept the best. But I'll keep this in mind for better maintance.
     
  13. rdwhite

    rdwhite New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    434
    Ratings:
    +2
    For some reason most windows software developers assume that if you install their program that means that you intend for the program to load at startup. Its crazy, but each time you install something new, check the startup programs file, and more often than not, the program set itself to pre-load when the computer boots up. Just delete the shortcut from the startup file and it should take care of future problems.
     
  14. donnA

    donnA New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    23,354
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks, good to know
     
  15. Revmitchell

    Revmitchell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    39,139
    Ratings:
    +2,361
    Faith:
    Baptist
    ccleaner makes this real easy.
     
  16. Winman

    Winman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14,768
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, CCleaner is great, one of the best programs ever, and it's free! :thumbs:

    I have it so CCleaner comes on at Startup, cleans out all temp files and junk like that. You can also turn off or on programs for Startup, and if you click Registry it will fix problems in your Registry. Fantastic program.

    A super-easy trick that will make your computer run much faster is to right-click on Recycle Bin, click on Properties. A box will open showing how much memory is used for the Recycle bin. The default is 10% and you'll never need it. Check "use one setting for all drives" then pull the slider down from 10% to 1%. Click on Apply. You will notice your computer operates much faster immediately.
     
  17. rdwhite

    rdwhite New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    434
    Ratings:
    +2
    Great Tip!! :thumbs:

    That is one that I did not know.
     
  18. Trotter

    Trotter <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Ratings:
    +0
    I prefer to disable the Recycle Bin but you have to be careful about what you choose to delete... there is no "oops" allowed.
     
Loading...