1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Diphenhydramine-- dream inducing?

Discussion in 'Health and Wellness' started by Alcott, Feb 14, 2013.

1. Alcott

Alcott Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    This "antihistamine possessing anticholinergic, antitussive, antiemetic and sedative properties," commonly marketed under the trade name Benadryl, was what I tried last night for having had trouble with insomia recently. It is directed for allergies, which I have never had to any significant degree, but info does say it is also a non-prescription sleep aid.

I don't recall for sure if I've never used it before, but recently I've been remembering my mom taking it in her latter years (she passed away in 2001), and she said she thought it does help to get rest... but she said it also gave her "crazy little dreams," and I think now I know what she meant. After taking 2 tablets-- the directions say '1 or 2' for adults-- I finished a Valentine poem I was writing for our class, then lay down to read. I was reading along and beginning to feel a bit "out of it," when suddenly the thought of a man with a bloody face emerged from 'nowhere' [not from what I was reading or anything else on my mind] and then I saw him, just for a split second, as you see a dream. That pattern began to repeat itself with different "sights." Once it was a woman riding in something close to the ground; this one lasted a few seconds, and she turned her face toward me, and her eyes, nose, lips, etc., were plastics of different colors glued onto her. I don't think I can remember others in the specifics besides those 2 (my mom had also been vague as to the specifics of what she meant by "crazy little dreams"), but this just kept happening, a