1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Distance learning

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by KeeperOfMyHome, Jun 15, 2001.

1. KeeperOfMyHome

KeeperOfMyHome New Member

Hi folks ~ I would really like to go to college but as the mother of five children (3 of which are being homeschooled), but to go to school on a campus is near impossible.

A missionary friend of mine suggested Andersonville Baptist here in Georgia. However, I am open to suggestions.

One reason I am contemplating this is because one day it may be required that parents possess some sort of degree in order to homeschool. When I graduated high school, I had no desire to go, but now I would really like to further my education.

What about online courses?

Thanks for your input!

2. TomVols

TomVols New Member

A lot would depend on what you are wanting to study. I would check out Liberty University at www.liberty.edu.
    They have a highly reputable distance ed program that is fully accredited (Which is very important) and very affordable (even more important) :D

3. DocCas

DocCas New Member

I took my D. Min. from Andersonville. I thought it would be easier for a full time pastor to avail myself of the "distance learning" program. Was I ever wrong! I worked harder than I ever did in any "on campus" program I was ever in, and had to budget my time in order to get everything done in a timely manner. It was a lot harder than I anticipated and I wouldn't do it again. If I ever get the itch to get more education I will avail myself of the summer session programs offered by many seminaries. However, if I ever get that itch, I would request somebody on the BB shoot me! :D

[ June 16, 2001: Message edited by: Thomas Cassidy ]