1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Do you accidently contradict Rom 14 with Gal 4??

Discussion in 'Other Christian Denominations' started by BobRyan, Dec 21, 2007.

?
  1. Never thought to compare them before - don't know

3 vote(s)
    50.0%
  2. Yes - Gal 4 observances include the Rom 14 Observances

2 vote(s)
    33.3%
  3. No I do not believe both Gal 4 applies to days like Passover - Rom 14 does!

2 vote(s)
    33.3%
  4. The solution for Gal 4 in the OP is correct

2 vote(s)
    33.3%
  5. I ignore some details in both Rom 14 and Gal 4 to get them to work.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. I am still studying this - see what happens here

2 vote(s)
    33.3%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. BobRyan

BobRyan Well-Known Member

Faith:
    Non Baptist Christian
    Question for the group:

Do you use Gal 4 to condemn observance of OT days (for example Passover - or pick any other day you like from the OT) AND ALSO use Romans 14 as defending observance to those same Bible approved days?

Do you agree that Gal 4 is actually condemning observance of something?

Do you agree that Romans 14 is defending it?

Here is a topic where I would certainly expect all on this board to differ with my POV so it will be helpful for me to have the group point to where the "details" are not in favor with my POV.

Let's select a very easy example like "observing Passover" and read Romans 14: 5-6

Rom 14
    5 One person regards one day above another, another regards every day alike Each person must be fully convinced in his own mind.
    6 He who observes the day, observes it for the Lord, and he who eats, does so for the Lord, for he gives thanks to God; and he who eats not, for the Lord he does not eat, and gives thanks to God.