1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Doctorate options...please help!

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by Pastor Shaun, Jul 14, 2011.

1. Pastor Shaun

Pastor Shaun New Member

I am a pastor/school teacher, looking to study for a dmin or ph.d. I am interested in going both routes but looking at my options. Please don't ask me my motives; I am just wanting to learn more about ministry and the Bible.

My original intention was to take a MA in Education and MA in Theological Studies and do LU's DMIN program. However, with my work schedule I don't think this can happen... and I don't know any other accredited seminaries that would let me meet mdiv equivalency like this.

I am now leaning towards doing the Ph.d program from SATS....

Do I have options here? I can attend campus but just in the Summer.

My main interests of study is Theology and Expository Preaching.

2. mandym

mandym New Member

With Liberty you can do the entire Dmin online. Golden Gate you can do most of it (and they continue to add classes) on line with some intensives. NOBS does 60% online with some intensives and they also continue to add more classes. But either way you will not be able to get to a phd until you have your dmin under your belt.

3. PilgrimPastor

PilgrimPastor Member
    Site Supporter

Doesn't Liberty require several week long intensives in their D.Min? Or at least a few?

4. mandym

mandym New Member

They may require a few. But not near what the others do. I doubt it is more than a couple if at all.

5. Pastor Shaun

Pastor Shaun New Member

Let me clarify...I don't want to do both a dmin and phd, just trying to decide one of them to do.