1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

English Standard Version - what do you think?

Discussion in '2004 Archive' started by Jeffrey H, Mar 31, 2004.

1. Jeffrey H

Jeffrey H New Member

What do you think of the ESV? It appears to be an excellent translation and I'm thinking of getting a copy. No one at my church has one or knows anything about it.

Responses by "KJV onlies" will be not be considered.

2. mesly

mesly Member

Faith:
    Baptist
    Jeffrey,

I have been using the ESV as my main bible for about 2 years now. The translation is very literal, but not so literal that it sacrafices readability.

My only concern has not been the translation, but rather the quality of the binding used. Seems like Crossway hasn't put the best materials into their bindings, although I hear that this is changing. I did recently purchase a thinline genuine leather and am well pleased with it. The early "Classic Reference" leather bounds were terrible (i.e. lots of glue).

Overall, I would highly recommend it.

3. TC

TC Active Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I like the ESV. I have the classic hardcover which is of decent quality - at least much better (IMO) than the early classic leather ones.

4. Phillip

Phillip <b>Moderator</b>

I have an imitation leather and it seems okay. The pages are not the thin-film style of high quality Biblical paper, but I actually like it better because it is easier to make notes on without bleed-through.

As far as the translation I agree with both mesly and TC. It is a great translation. More literal than the NIV, but still very readable.