1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Fighting Fundamentalism

Discussion in 'Other Christian Denominations' started by adisciplinedlearner, Jul 22, 2010.

1. adisciplinedlearner

adisciplinedlearner New Member

When I was an independent Baptist pastor, I was a very militant, belligerent, fighting fundamentalist. Later, I learned that the spirit of the fighting fundamentalist originated not with my then-heroes J. Frank Norris and J. R. Graves, but with unloving, hateful men like Martin Luther. I asked God to forgive me for having such a bad spirit and prayed that He would make me the most loving Christian that I can be. I am still growing in the grace and knowledge of Christ and have a long ways to go in becoming more Christ-like, but I at least have this as my life's goal.

Fighting fundamentalism is Satanic in nature.

2. DHK

DHK <b>Moderator</b>

Love without doctrine is satanic in nature.
    A Christian must have both.
    There is a command in the Scripture given in the book of Jude.
    "Contend for the Faith." Take it seriously.

3. adisciplinedlearner

Yes, we should earnestly contend for the original Christian faith without being contentious. We should not earnestly contend for Catholicism or Protestantism.

4. DHK

DHK <b>Moderator</b>

I don't. I don't believe in the heresies of the RCC, and Baptists existed before the Reformation. I am not a Protestant.

5. Salty

Salty 20,000 Posts Club
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    Then can you explain what a predenominational is?

6. Melanie

Melanie Active Member
    Site Supporter

Come on folks.....let us put the FUN back into fundamentalism:thumbs::1_grouphug:

7. Ruiz

Ruiz New Member