1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Fish Symbols and Christian Spending

Discussion in '2000-02 Archive' started by SaggyWoman, Dec 2, 2001.

1. SaggyWoman

SaggyWoman Active Member

When I have to make a decision about using services of companies, and I have no prior knowledge, I flip in the yellow pages. .. and I am not sure if I prefer those who carry the fish symbol or not. Sometimes they wear the symbol to get business... and have not a lick of godliness about them.

Sometimes, too, doing buiness with a non Christian allows me the opportunity for witness.

What do you do when you see the fish symbol?

2. donnA

donnA Active Member

Being in a small town, anda member of the largest church in the area(small by comparrison to some of your churches I'm sure) we have a lot of business owners in our church. I find that most people are more likely to give business to christian owned business when possible. I don't think any of them use the fish symbol though.
    Do the businesses use the fish because they are christians and they want to tell everyone who sees there sign(thinking of a resturant in the next town over, where all the resturants are). There are people who give business the a shop with christian symbols, so I wonder. I don't think we should be harsh on them without actually knowing. Now if someone wants to ask one in their area and come and tell the rest of us the results would be interesting.

3. bb_baptist

bb_baptist New Member

<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by katie:
    . . . I find that most people are more likely to give business to christian owned business when possible.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>