1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Free Will from an OT perspective

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by Steven2006, Mar 16, 2007.

1. Steven2006

Steven2006 New Member

I wanted to post some thoughts on free will, looking at it from the perspective of the old testament. I am by no means an expert on this topic, just someone who tries to read his bible and learn God's truths. So I would be interested to see feedback on this. Can anyone else think of OT verses that would apply?

"If his offering is a burnt sacrifice of the herd, let him offer a male without blemish; he shall offer it of his own free will at the door of the tabernacle of meeting before the lord. Then he shall put his hand on the head of the burnt offering, and it will be accepted on his behalf to make atonement for him." Leviticus 1:3,4

"And walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and sacrifice to God for sweet-smelling aroma." Ephesians 5:2

It is clear that the burnt offering shows us a picture of Christ and his sacrifice for us. It also is very clear that it was voluntary. The people had free will to choose, God does not change the way salvation works. This in my opinion is strong biblical evidence of mans free will.

"Everyone who thirsts, come to the waters..." Isaiah 55:1

"But whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst.. But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life." John 4:14

" And He said to me, "it is done!" I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. I will give of the foundation of the water of life freely to him who thirsts." Revelations 21:6