1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

High School Athletes being worked too hard

Discussion in 'Sports Forum' started by Nicholas25, Feb 11, 2008.

1. Nicholas25

Nicholas25 New Member

I am a first year assistant coach at my high school. The team went 4-20 in 2007. It was obvious changes needed to be made, and they have been. I have been blessed to have a lot of say concerning the day to day operations of the program. We have more drills, stations, and less dead time and standing around. We are paying more attention to detail, and are stressing discipline.

I would think everyone involved with the program including parents would be thrilled with the direction of the 2008 squad. Their boys are getting coaching like they have never received in their lives. This is a team that had double BP and infield/outfield at every practice last season. There was no discipline and no teaching of the fundamentals. We are doing different things at every practice and working hard.

Now, I said all of that to tell you this, we had a mother complain to the head coach that we are working the boys too hard. I can't believe it. I mean what happened to hardwork and discipline? What happened to having a player think he has maxed his potential only to have a coach get more out of him than he knew he had in him? Please do not misunderstand, we also praise them, and show them love. It is not baseball prison! Are we not to correct mistakes? Are we not to pay attention to detail? I honestly believe if Bobby Cox came to coach high school baseball you would have parents complain and say "he might be a good big league manger, but he can't coach high school baseball. He is too hard on my boy."