1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Holman Standard Version

Discussion in '2000-02 Archive' started by brorobw, Jan 11, 2002.

1. brorobw

brorobw New Member

Hi, everyone, I'm a newbie here, so go easy on me. I've picked up a copy of the Holman Standard Version New Testament, Lifeway's latest project. Anybody got any news or details concerning this version?

2. Chris Temple

Chris Temple New Member

<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by brorobw:
    Hi, everyone, I'm a newbie here, so go easy on me. I've picked up a copy of the Holman Standard Version New Testament, Lifeway's latest project. Anybody got any news or details concerning this version?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The HCSB is now available to search online at
    Holman Christian Standard Bible

From Lifeway online:

<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>LifeWay News—July 2001

Holman Christian Standard Bible New Testament released
    Ken Walker

Although selected Bible books from the Holman Christian Standard Bible (HCSB) have been released in various forms since 1999, the newest translation made its debut recently with the release of the complete New Testament featuring devotional notes by Henry Blackaby.

Part of a seven-year, $10 million project, the entire HCSB translation (Old and New Testaments) will be completed in 2003, according to David Shepherd, senior vice president and publisher for Broadman & Holman Publishers, a division of LifeWay Christian Resources of the Southern Baptist Convention.

Despite hundreds of translations on the market, Shepherd said the HCSB bridges the gap between a literal translation and modern English versions tailored for lower-level reading skills.