1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Featured I have changed my mind about Police

Discussion in 'General Baptist Discussions' started by Reynolds, Sep 15, 2017.

1. Reynolds

Reynolds Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I am a retired police officer. Through the years I have always defended officers. I have always, unconditionally sided with them in their disputes against the public. In one encounter, my perspective has changed 180 degrees. I now fully understand why so many people now hate police. The rotten apples ruin it for the rest of them.

2. TCassidy

TCassidy Late-Administator Emeritus
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    Police are just like everyone else. They follow the 10/80/10 rule.

10% are saints. They are honest, committed, knowing their job is to protect and serve the public, whom they work for.

10% are bottom feeders. Corrupt to the core. They will plant evidence, push people around, bully them, and make the rest look bad.

80% are in the middle. Not saints but not bottom feeders either. But every now and then they have a bad day and how they treat the public suffers from their bad attitude on that day.

But at least they are not lawyers. You know what they say about lawyers. "99% of lawyers make the other 1% look bad." :D

3. Reynolds

Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    For the most part, I agree. I think the numbers are more like 25 50 25.

4. TCassidy

Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    That may be true if you include the officers who see a fellow officer do something wrong and refuse to confront him or even write a report about it. They are, in effect, enabling the corrupt officer to continue being corrupt.