1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

I Want to Teach the Word, but Where Do I Go From Here?

Discussion in 'Pastoral Ministries' started by Steven Yeadon, Nov 15, 2017.

1. Steven Yeadon

Steven Yeadon Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    Hi,

I have been at this forum for 8 months, and talking on it has convinced me that I desperately want to teach the Word of God to others. I have no idea what this means for me now, though. I had been a false believer for 12 years before becoming a believer on faith a year and half ago. I also went to seminary in that time at a "Moderate" seminary called Asbury Theological Seminary where I studied mainly teaching, Christian apologetics, church history, and theology before dropping out due to medical problems and because I was "too literal" with how I read the bible. I had planned on becoming a "Moderate theologian."

Thus, my pastor, a Southern Baptist, is very worried for me whenever I say I want to do anything where I would have a ministerial role in anyway. I also have a history of severe mental illness, but thankfully I have been well treated in the last two years.

The difference now though is like night and day. I honestly want to teach the Word to others, even though the bible is clear that I will be judged more harshly (James 3:1). However, what is my next step? How does this role function in the church from amateur to elder? What are the options available to me? I don't really know so I came here looking for help.

2. Salty

Salty 20,000 Posts Club
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    Have you thought about ministering to others with Mental Illness?