1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Interesting View I Heard

Discussion in 'Bible Versions & Translations' started by CubeX, Apr 22, 2008.

1. CubeX

CubeX New Member

Hi, I was wanting to see if anyone else has ever heard of the following before. However, let me give a brief summary of my thought process and what I've been learning:

I used to believe that all translations were essentially the same until I started studying the whole debate about KJB only verses Modern Translations. Most of the time the arguments were full of wind and easily dismissed as personal opinion until I finally heard a great argument. The argument was that the Wescott-aland Greek texts that underline the MVs as the base text are based on texts from Alexandria where Gnosticism was very prevelant. These texts are older, but being older doesn't neccessarily mean that the texts are closer to what the original manuscripts contained. So here's my question:

Can it be shown the texts used for the Wescott text were corrupted by the "Gnostics" for the sake of gnostic teachings?

This is a complex question that requires many others, but I figured it would be worth a shot to find out what others might know about it. If you can, could you post any sites, books, etc. that I could use?

Thanks!
    - Dave

2. exscentric

exscentric Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    " Can it be shown the texts used for the Wescott text were corrupted by the "Gnostics" for the sake of gnostic teachings?"