1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Is there a difference between unsubmissiveness and feminism?

Discussion in '2004 Archive' started by SaggyWoman, Oct 27, 2004.

1. SaggyWoman

SaggyWoman Active Member

You make the call!

2. joyfulkeeperathome

joyfulkeeperathome New Member

I believe that they are often related, but not always. Before I realized that I was to practice Biblical submission, I would not have called myself a feminist and yet I bought into many of the lies of feminism (a woman has to work to get her self-worth, children are a burden, men have to help with the housework, etc, etc.) So, for me I know that when I started practicing biblical submission, the feminist lies were exposed for what they were and I was free from such thinking!!!

HTH

3. Johnv

Johnv New Member

They're both very general and broad, and subject to very wide interpretations. Unsubmissiveness is often, imo, related to unloving. That is, a spouse who resists the call to submit is often dealing with a spouse who is resisting the call to love.

Now as for feminism, again, it's a very broad term. If one views feminism as the right of women to be treated equally as man, then I'm a feminist. If one views feminism as a women being the same as men, then I'm not. Being equal does not mean being the same.

4. Elnora

Elnora New Member