1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Journal Articles

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by Martin, Aug 8, 2006.

1. Martin

Martin Active Member

Faith:
    Baptist
    I need a little help from anyone on this board who has published journal articles (theology, church history, etc).

FYI...
    I have a Masters (Religion) degree and I am in the process of working on a second Masters (History). When I am finished with that degree I will start teaching history/religion in a community college (etc) and begin work on entering a PhD program (hopefully ancient history). My goal, when I have finished my second Masters, is to teach history at a University (hopefully Christian). I have been doing some reading on getting into PhD programs, and getting jobs in the college teaching profession, and I have discovered that it really helps if one has had papers published in journals (etc).

That being said...

Does anyone here know of any journals that accept "first time" articles (etc)? Where should I start?

Any information would be helpful.

Thanks!

2. RandR

RandR New Member

I've never had something published in a peer-reviewed journal. BUT... I once had a professor tell me that he thought I should submit a paper I'd written to a particular journal.

All that to say...ask some of your profs if anything you've already written is publication-caliber. It they think "yes" or even "maybe" perhaps they could also direct you from there.

Just a thought. I'm sure some of the other guys have been published and can be a lot more helpful.

3. Rhetorician

Rhetorician Administrator
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    Professional Conferences

Martin,