1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

MS Windows XP SP2...danger?

Discussion in 'Computers & Technology Forum' started by Trotter, Sep 1, 2004.

  1. Trotter

    Trotter <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hokay, boys and girls. This is what I am after...

    Ed Edwards downloaded the SP2 for Windows XP, and it really messed his computer up. So I am asking all you geekanoids out there...

    What will SP2 mess up when it is loaded into my computer? I have not downloaded it, as it will take almost 23 hours over dial-up (I ordered the CD). But I need to know what I should do before I install it, and what I should tell others that I pass the CD off to.

    Any and all help will be Mucho appreciated!!!

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  2. JGrubbs

    JGrubbs New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4,761
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have other friends who's systems messed up after installing SP2. Microsoft has a list of about 50 software packages on their site that will stop working after you install the update. I decided not to install it on my pc.
     
  3. g220

    g220 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Ratings:
    +0
    I plan on Ghosting an image "as is" first... just in case [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  4. Greg Linscott

    Greg Linscott <img src =/7963.jpg>

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've installed it, and have experienced no problems.
     
  5. SpiritualMadMan

    SpiritualMadMan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,734
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. Greg Linscott

    Greg Linscott <img src =/7963.jpg>

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe that's why... I use Office 2003 and have a fairly recent compter/software (less than 1 year old).
     
  7. Pete

    Pete New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,345
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed it this week. No software problems, computer gets a bit funny when booting though. Will think about it for a while [​IMG]
     
  8. JGrubbs

    JGrubbs New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4,761
    Ratings:
    +0
    Upgrading to Windows XP Service Pack 2 will cause problems with about one in every 10 PCs running the operating system, according to research published Tuesday by a Canadian asset-monitoring service provider.

    SOURCE
     
  9. dianetavegia

    dianetavegia Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Trotter, I have dial-up and it took less than 3 hours on both my computer and hubbies lap top. No problems either. Both our computers are pretty new and are all XP.

    There's a firewall that stops all popup ads! Neat!

    Diane
     
  10. BornBaptist

    BornBaptist <img src =/9147.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    204
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

    I too have downloaded SP2, Because I am have a 12.9 gig drive and at the time, I only had 3 gig left.. My computer did act a bit slow... I ended up reformatting and reinstalling XP Pro. and installed the SP2. and everything is working fine. I am getting a bigger hard drive soon.

    Blessings.

    BornBaptist
     
  11. g220

    g220 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Ratings:
    +0
    112 shopping days 'til Christmas [​IMG]
     
  12. Pastork

    Pastork New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    434
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have installed SP2 on two computers - a desktop and a laptop - and I haven't had any problems at all. Just a couple tips for those who have some compatibility issues with other programs:

    1) If you already have a third party firewall program (such as Zone Alarm, Sygate, Outpost, etc.), it is best to turn off the built-in windows program.

    2) If you are having trouble with a third party program that was designed to run under a version of windows prior to XP, try this:

    right click the icon of the third party program that is having compatibility issues

    select 'Properties'

    click on the 'Compatibility' tab

    under 'Compatibility Mode' select 'Run this program in compatibility mode for:' and then just select the most recent version of Windows for which the program was designed.

    I have one program (the Civil War Generals 2 game) that was designed for Windows 95, but I haven't had any trouble with compatibility issues when running it in Compatibility Mode.

    3) Take these steps to help ensure other programs will work well with SP2:

    right click on 'My Computer'

    Click 'Properties'

    click 'Advanced'

    under 'Performance' click 'Settings'

    Click the 'Data Execution Prevention' (DEP) tab

    Select 'Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select'

    Click the 'Add' button and just add the .exe of any program that is giving you trouble.

    I received an email from Agnitum (makers of my Outpost Pro firewall, which is one of the programs that Microsoft lists as having compatibility issues with SP2) with these instructions when I installed SP2. I haven't had any problems with Outpost and SP2 at all.

    I hope this has been helpful, even though it is very basic.

    Pastork
     
  13. Trotter

    Trotter <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Ratings:
    +0
    I received my SP2 CD this morning (took almost a week...not bad for it to be free).

    Since my computer is just over a year old, I had apprehensions, but I installed SP2...and have not had any problems thus far.

    Oh, I had to turn off the Windows XP firewall on boot-up, and it fiddled with a couple of my wife's little games, but nothing serious.

    Thanks for the honest info, everyone. I do appreciate it.

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
  14. dianetavegia

    dianetavegia Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the option to okay my IM and guru.net permanently so I did. I like the firewall because of the popup catcher! Now if something would only stop all the porn! My email provider catches MOST of it but at least one filthy photo a day is coming through. [​IMG]

    Diane
     
  15. Trotter

    Trotter <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,815
    Ratings:
    +0
    Diane,

    Firefox blocks all of my pop-ups, and has for over a year now. I had a free program that I used before, but I don't even need it anymore.

    I know what you mean about the spam. My Yahoo accounts catch mine in the Bulk folder, thankfully. And once they send you one, they just keep sending them. If you block one, two more show up...

    I'm still using my ezArmor firewall. It does a great job, and I just don't trust the MS juggernaut with much because of the virus threat.

    In Christ,
    Trotter
     
Loading...