1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Need some help

Discussion in 'Music Ministry' started by ashleysdad, Jul 21, 2011.

1. ashleysdad

ashleysdad Member

Okay, here is the situation. Our church has just recently lost our music minister. We don't have the finances to hire someone to fill that spot so it seems to have fallen to me (the youth pastor) to step in. Normally it would be no big deal. I would just continue what we had been doing. Get together with the piano player and select to hymns. Well, that is the second part of the problem. Due to health issues and family matters our piano player is not exactly dependable. They maybe there one week and then not be there for a few weeks. I have very little music knowledge. I can sing but cannot play an instrument. We have no back up piano player (we have a couple in my youth group taking lessons but not ready yet). What I could really use are suggestions, ideas, information on resources, anything like that. We tried the acapella option, it didn't go over well. Is there software that I might be able to take advantage of, cds or anything. Honestly getting a little desperate. Oh one more thing, our church is mainly traditional but is open to a more blended approach and we do have some talented vocalists but again, at this time really no reliable musicians. Thanks for any help, it will be greatly appreciated!

2. nodak

nodak Active Member
    Site Supporter

We have a gifted pianist who just went through cancer.

The church purchased a relatively inexpensive keyboard with midi capability. Many if not most hymnals are now available in that format.

We just program in the hymns we choose and let her rip (the keyboard.)