1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Need video card help

Discussion in 'Computers & Technology Forum' started by Gina B, Dec 9, 2009.

  1. Gina B

    Gina B Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    16,944
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi. The video is not working on my computer- I think. When I turn on the monitor it says no signal, but the monitor works fine with another computer. I bought a new video card, but in order to use it, I'm supposed to disable the old one, which is integrated. I cannot get to bios to do this because The monitor isn't working. Duh! How can I disable the old one and install the new one?
     
  2. Johnv

    Johnv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    21,321
    Ratings:
    +0
    This might require a call to the manufacturer's helpdesk. There will occaisionally be jumper settings on a board to manually disable on-board components (such as the video card), but the manufacturer will need to tell you if that's the case, and where that jumper is. You might try downloading the manual for that specific model to see if there are any jumper settings listed. That would eliminate the need to call the manufacturer.
     
  3. exscentric

    exscentric Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,276
    Ratings:
    +59
    You might stick the card in and hook the monitor to it and see if it works, some motherboards will take care of things for you.

    If you do not find anything list the make/model number and some of us might be able to research it for you. Like Johnv said the manufacturer has that info. We might be able to find it for you or you can just go to the makers site and find info.
     
  4. Gina B

    Gina B Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    16,944
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok, will try to find that. Can't download the manuel as I can't see the monitor though. I did try to put the new card in and just turn it on, but nothing happened. The monitor will just quickly flash a box that says "VGA no signal" and then there is just nothing.
     
  5. exscentric

    exscentric Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,276
    Ratings:
    +59
    Make and model number would help.
     
  6. Darrenss1

    Darrenss1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you get it to work??

    Darren
     
    #6 Darrenss1, Dec 14, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 14, 2009
  7. Darrenss1

    Darrenss1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    587
    Ratings:
    +0
    No VGA signal isn't a good sign, could be the card is faulty, not connected to the motherboard properly, or there's no power getting through to it and its not actually powering on. ALL cards should at least work in any monitor.

    :smilewinkgrin:

    Darren
     
    #7 Darrenss1, Dec 14, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 14, 2009
  8. Gina B

    Gina B Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    16,944
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sorry it has taken so long to reply! Life's busy lately...

    I'll have to pull it out of the closet and get the make and model tomorrow sometime. I'd really like to be able to use it again, as it's newer than the others and has all my STUFF on it!
     
  9. th1bill

    th1bill Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    957
    Ratings:
    +31
    Faith:
    Baptist
    Gina,
    I build custom computers and it sounds like you have a mother board fault or possibly the new card is bad but not all is lost. The harddrive is independent of the main-board and is easily moved into one of your other computers. It's a matter of removing 2 to 4 screws and disconnecting the power plug and the input wire from the main-board. If you determine t go that route either go to Google and search for "installing 2nd harddrive" or come back here and get one of us to advise you.
    ... God bless.
     
Loading...