1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

NET Bible vs. NASB and ESV

Discussion in '2005 Archive' started by Marcia, May 26, 2005.

1. Marcia

Marcia Active Member

I have been using a NET Bible for a few years as a primary study Bible (though I read other versions as well -- mainly NASB, NIV, and NKJV). I used their first version and now have the second one. I think they are coming out with the third and final version next year or about then. You can download the NET Bible from the Internet, though I ordered one from them for about $30. Their site is
    http://netbible.bible.org/

I like the notes in the NET Bible and I think it reads better than the NASB. I am not too familiar with the ESV though I use the online ESV to quote from a lot in things I write.

I am just wondering what the thoughts are of anyone who uses the NET Bible as compared with the NASB and/or the ESV. Which do you prefer and why? Thanks. [​IMG]

2. Marcia

Marcia Active Member

Maybe a holiday weekend is not a good time to ask this question? Even one answer would be nice! [​IMG]

3. robycop3

robycop3 Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    Want JUST an answer Marcia? OK, here goes....

I cannot answer truthfully cuz I don't have an ESV or NET. But I mainly use the NKJV and NASB.

Weelll, it was at least SOME kinda answer!(LOL)

4. rsr

rsr <b> 7,000 posts club</b>

Faith:
    Baptist
    I have the NET (second edition) and greatly enjoy the notes. (And it's a steal at the price.) I think some of the translation choices are a bit novel, but it may be the best dynamic equivalency translation available in English.

I used the old NASB for many years (anyone remember the ugly orange soft cover?) but have gravitated to the ESV.