1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

New security...

Discussion in 'Computers & Technology Forum' started by webdog, Jul 9, 2007.

  1. webdog

    webdog Active Member
    Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    24,691
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed the CA security center that comes free with my Roadrunner. I had to delete the Macafee, since Comcast switched to Roadrunner in my area.

    The problem I'm having is with the firewall. Every time I try going ANYWHERE, it blocks it. I have to allow each site manually.

    On top of that, when I try accessing gmail, it loads FOREVER, and then I get a message telling me to either view it in html format or click on a link. When I click on the link, it tells me to type the site google.com and gmail.com (which I did) to allow these in the privacy feature...but still nothing. How do I get gmail to load like it did before? Gmail is my primary email...
     
  2. webdog

    webdog Active Member
    Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    24,691
    Likes Received:
    0
    I disabled the CA firewall and am now using windows' firewall. This fixed the problem of being able to surf the web.

    New problem I'm having is the fact everytime I go to my address bar to visit a site...it's completely empty. I also have to log into the BB and every other site I visit EACH TIME...and I never had this problem before. What can I do to go back to the setting I had prior, where everything was already available in my address bar? I'm computer illiterate if you haven't already guessed...
     
  3. SBCPreacher

    SBCPreacher Active Member
    Site Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    Faith:
    Baptist
    It's a sin problem. Repent. That should clear it all up. :thumbs:
     
  4. webdog

    webdog Active Member
    Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    24,691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which one...Thou shalt not use thine computer without proper knowledge? :)
     
  5. SBCPreacher

    SBCPreacher Active Member
    Site Supporter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    Faith:
    Baptist
    That'l do for starters!
     
  6. Trotter

    Trotter <img src =/6412.jpg>

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,818
    Likes Received:
    1
    Faith:
    Baptist
    CA's firewall is a rebranded ZoneAlarm. Odds are you had the settings too high. ZoneAlarm can be as bad as Vista if you have it set too high.

    I wish I could remember the proper settings, but it has been too long since I had it. I use the firewall built into my router now.
     
Loading...