1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Pastor needing some help/advice

Discussion in 'Baptist Colleges & Seminaries' started by Caleb Clark, May 29, 2017.

1. Caleb Clark

Caleb Clark New Member

Faith:
    Baptist
    Hello,

I am a pastor serving in a local church right now. I am looking to get my masters degree in either pastoral leadership or pastoral counseling. My goal is to be a lead pastor at a church one day. I am young (23 years old), but am married and have a little one.

My problem is I cannot seem to find a seminary that is affordable for my budget right now. So, I am wondering since I am just wanting to use my degree in a pastoral way, if you would recommend going to a seminary that is accredited only trough a christian organization?

Any input/advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. Squire Robertsson

Squire Robertsson Administrator
    Administrator

Faith:
    Baptist
    • Winner Winner x 1
  3. CertainSound

CertainSound New Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    Bob Jones Seminary has online Masters degree program

4. Son_of_a_Preacherman

Faith:
    Baptist
    Caleb, I'm going to throw my opinion out there for you and you are free to do with it what you wish. At your age I would seek an accredited degree but I would not go in debt to do get it. I know that many of the seminaries have scholarships, sometimes you just have to dig to find them. With that being said, I am not opposed to a non-accredited degree. My bachelors and masters are accredited and I will probably go non-accredited with my next degree. Like you, I mainly want knowledge more than the degree; plus, I'm staring 50 in the eyes. You seek God's leadership and do what is best for your family. He will take care of the rest.