1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Preaching vs Teaching - In search of definitions and Undertsanding

Discussion in 'Baptist Theology & Bible Study' started by Steven Yeadon, May 27, 2018.

1. Steven Yeadon

Steven Yeadon Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    I have noticed something that really gets me as I studied 1 Corinthians 8-9 and pondered some of the Greek of the New Testament today.

It seems the word "preach" in English is actually a few Greek words (euangelizo, katangello, kerysso) almost always used for the proclamation of the Gospel, in what seems an evangelistic or missionary sense.

The word "teach" in English refers to one main word "didasko" and a few rarer words with the main thrust of it being the communication of information for the result of understanding. The two rarer words for "teach" are defined as "proclamation" or is defined by the word "doctrine," which itself seems to refer to what is in fact taught

Up until now I had thought, and read, that preaching was equivalent to public speaking about the bible. That teaching was something that referred to formal instruction of the bible. The definitions of the word didasko and the usage of the word "preach" when you look at the occurrences in the bible, shocks me. It makes me think I got it wrong all along. What really pressed this home was 1 Corinthians 9:14.

1 Corinthians 9:14:
    14 In the same way, the Lord has commanded that those who preach the gospel should receive their living from the gospel.