1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Question for my SBC Brothers

Discussion in 'General Baptist Discussions' started by Whowillgo, May 28, 2008.

1. Whowillgo

Whowillgo Member
    Site Supporter

I ask this sincerely with no hidden agenda. I am an Independent Baptist Pastor although I was SBC for many years. I ask this since I have no resources to use. I have a dear SBC Pastor friend 79 years old that has been at the same SBC Spanish Baptist Church for 32 years. He has never taken a salary and has used what small amount of money that comes in to spread the word, maintain the building and support the Baptist Children's Home.
    His heart is breaking, he is telling me that the State Convention has stated that if he does not send in x amount of dollars to the Cooperative Program that the Church he pastors is not eligible to take part in any vote at the state or national level. He is adamant that this is true. Can someone help me out here. Thank you in advance for your responses.

2. Revmitchell

Revmitchell Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

Faith:
    Baptist
    The primary purpose in the convention is missions. If the church is not funding that cause at all then then by definition the church cannot be part of the cooperative.

3. preachinjesus

preachinjesus Well-Known Member
    Site Supporter

One of the sad truths in our convention today is the need by some to standardize the Cooperative giving from our autonomous churches. While there should be some level of giving to the CP (which I would suspect your dear friend has done for some time) it is highly dubious to standardize the percentage which a church should give from its budget or the actual dollar amount.