1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Re: my family converted to (hyper?)Calvinism

Discussion in 'General Baptist Discussions' started by tlouis96, Jun 20, 2022.

1. tlouis96

tlouis96 New Member
    Site Supporter

Wow it has been a long time. I remembered this post and had to see if it was still here and what I was feeling and what people were saying almost 6 years ago.

I ended up going along with my parents wishes and stopped going to my church in college. It was either that or risk being cut off from them and I did not want that. I graduated and have a job now but don't get out much. And I am glad that I was not in a relationship at the time because it seems impossible to find anyone who agrees with this doctrine or is OK with never going to a phsyical church. (There are no churches locally so I read my Bible and occassionly listen to podcasts.) And to be honest I don't want kids anymore. The world is terrible and the thought of bringing about children, grandchildren, great grandchildren some of which will inevitably be predestined to hell scares me even though it is God's sovereign will. But if I don't have a relationship or kids it is also because it is His will, so I have accepted that route.

At this point I would say I agree with the theology and think it makes the most sense logically. If God loved a person it makes no sense to me that they would be born, live and die having never heard the gospel as most people probably have throughout history. He created everyone and is allowed to hate anyone and chose before creating people who would be saved and who would be destroyed.