1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Salt in the oceans

Discussion in 'Creation vs. Evolution' started by Administrator2, Jan 19, 2002.

1. Administrator2

Administrator2 New Member

GARPIER
    I am not a scientist so I don't have the answer, but here is the question:

Presumably as the rivers enter into the oceans, they carry with them minerals including salt. (Right or wrong?)
    That being the case would not the amount of salt being added to the oceans every year over the course of millions of years -(Presupposing a very old age to the earth, which I don't) - sooner or later make the oceans uninhabitable like the Dead Sea is today?

Anyone have any ideas?

TOMR
    The components of salts, like sodium and calcium, end up being fixed (incorporated into) by clay minerals like montmorillonite.

GARPIER
    I’m not sure I understand what this has to do with figuring out how long it took for the oceans to reach their present levels of salt content. Can you elaborate on this for me please?
    Thanks
    I am being sincere when I ask this. I thought that evolutionists believed in uniformitarianism- the idea that the natural processes we see now have always worked that way and at the same rate. Right or wrong?

LOGIC BOT
    Uniformitariansim states that the natural laws and mechanisms that control the universe stay the same. For example we assume certain properties of gravity to be the same, to come to conclusions about stars, and early cosmology.

Think of it like this. Gravity works at a constant, but the results depend on the mass of the two objects, how close they are etc.

THE BARBARIAN
    The early uniformitarians were simply saying that the existing rules for the universe always worked that way.