1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

Saving souls

Discussion in '2004 Archive' started by Vince, Dec 30, 2003.

1. Vince

Vince New Member

I read through Spurgeon's 'A Defense of Calvinism' and followed it with his series on soul winning and I came to a point of confusion.

He begins to talk about how some preach salvation by grace to the saved, but when speaking to a lost person they preach global acceptance. I can agree that lying about what you believe in order to get attendance++; is very wrong, but it raised a question in my mind.

What is the Calvinist salvation message?

I'm studying Calvinism at the moment and while I'm definitely not an Arminian, niether do I fancy myself a Calvinist. That said, this isn't a challenge, but a request for information.

Vince~

2. russell55

russell55 New Member

Repent and believe.

3. Vince

Vince New Member

Is this done with the understanding that this is the defining moment of their life, where their election or lack thereof is made manifest?

Vince~

4. russell55

russell55 New Member

I am not sure I understand your question, but I'm going to try to answer it anyway, and if I miss the boat, you can let me know.

This is done with the understanding that anyone who is being inwardly drawn by the Holy Spirit will respond positively to the gospel call to repent and believe.

And yes, this is a defining moment of their life. No one is tjustified until they believe, so until this moment (the moment of faith" they remain "children of God's wrath".

5. Vince

Vince New Member

You're answer was much along the lines of what I was looking for, thanks.