1. Welcome to Baptist Board, a friendly forum to discuss the Baptist Faith in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to all the features that our community has to offer.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon and God Bless!

semi happy this week.

Discussion in 'Health and Wellness' started by thomas15, Aug 1, 2021.

1. thomas15

thomas15 Well-Known Member

Faith:
    Baptist
    I've been riding bicycles for about 3 years, started when I turned 60. Had not been on a bike for about 25 years. It was really one of those things were I realized I needed to increase fitness, not that I was overweight but I did have a few extra pounds. While not a athlete my any means, I've always had some degree of fitness, I have in the past worked out in gyms and have 8 years of martial arts but had not in any kind of fitness program for about 10 years.

So, first time out on the bike in fall 2018 was not a pleasant experience. I'm in the hills of Eastern PA and about a mile into it actually thought my heart was going to cut itself loose of the blood vessels it was working that hard. Undaunted, I kept at it a very slowly started to make progress. In 2019 I participated in a few organized rides and completed a 65 mile charity event.

In Sept 2019 I was diagnosed with Lyme Disease which really hit me like a brick. Took 2 months off cycling then set up an indoor "smart" trainer utilizing the virtual platform Zwift. Over the winter 2019-2020 hit it hard, very hard.

Spring-fall 2020 worked outside and made great gains. In 2020 logged in 6200 miles (indoor and outside), about 480,000 feet of hill climbing ascent. Over last winter I did a 12 week training program with intervals, picked up an 8% ftp increase. I blame it on the covid vaccination but first week in Feb. I lost my MoJo. Serious bad, a 10 beats per minute heart rate increase and a very bad feeling in my legs. I cut my cycling time in half.